Week 31

October 16, 2008

I have noticed that pregnant women bring out the kindness in people. Throughout my pregnancy, at least during the times I started showing, strangers have been very friendly towards me.

Last Sunday JJ and I went to Fry’s for some groceries. We collected everything we needed and got in line to check out. As we waited JJ realized we forgot something. So he jetted off to get it as I held our place in line.

While waiting, an older woman lines up behind me. I noticed her smiling at me while looking at my belly. When suddenly she kindly asks, “Are you cold?”

Not exactly what I thought she would ask but I politely replied “Nope, I’m enjoying the weather.”

She continues to look at my belly and finally what I expected her to ask “What are you having?”

I reply with a big smile “A Boy.”

She smiles back and takes the opportunity to tell me a little about her children. Warm-heartedly she wishes me the best on my pregnancy just as JJ returned. We pay for our groceries and I start to push the cart forward when unexpectedly, the older woman stops me. She hands me a piece of paper and says “I think you dropped this.”

A little startled, I took the paper without question, said thanks and began to walk away. As JJ and I walked out of the store, I opened up the piece of paper and cracked-up laughing. JJ looks at me and ask “What is it!?!”

I hesitated a little and said “A coupon.”

JJ replies “‘So it wasn’t yours? What kind of coupon?”

I responded “Definitely not mine… it’s for tampons!”

Although the situation and older woman were a bit comical, it was really a neighborly act. I have been very fortunate to have many good-natured, caring, and affectionate people in my life and I know Jericho will also be as fortunate.

This week Jericho should be measuring about 18 inches and weighs a lil’over 3 1/2 lbs. We can still expect him to gain at least three to five more pounds before December 2nd. (Ahh! Im going to tip over!)

Jericho’s brain is still developing. He can now perceive information from all five senses.  He spends most of his time making faces, hiccupping, swallowing, breathing, pedaling with his little hands and feet and of course a lot of thumb sucking. In fact, some babies suck their thumbs so much while in the womb that they’re born with a callus on their thumb. So cute!!

One Response to “Week 31”

  1. tia ueta said

    i miss you prego sister! i need to rub your belly and have a conversation with jericho! i’m going through withdrawls!

Leave a Reply

