Week 40 – Due Date

May 29, 2009

From the beginning when they told me Jericho’s due date, December 2, I imagined I would deliver early. In fact, I pictured a dramatic scene similar to the movies…

JJ and I would be celebrating Thanksgiving with my family about to cut the turkey when suddenly…. I cut the cheese… no… I mean… my water breaks! Everyone frantically jumps up from their seats and we head to the hospital. We then cut into some crazy driving scene with turkey flying everywhere,  in which I never make it and some how give birth in a taxi cab.

Ok! So maybe I have seen to many movies! Instead imagine the boring reality of what really happened and my disappointment when I had to return to work on Jericho’s due date still pregnant. It was the longest day of my life.

On top of that I cannot seem to keep my phone from ringing. And the question everyone is calling to ask is: “Did you have the baby yet?” or “You’re still pregnant?”

News Flash – If I was in labor or had Jericho, would I be on the phone talking nonchalantly to you right now?

I don’t think people realize how torturous it is to have to answer the same obvious question multiple times when your as anxious as I am right now. I know everyone has good intentions and is just as excited as JJ and I. So at this point I am willing to do anything to get labor going.

Here are some birth inducing methods or old wives tales that have been passed down to generations.

Vacuuming. Supposedly cleaning or nesting is a sign the baby is coming soon. Many women claim vacuuming was what induced labor for them. So watch out! I will run you over with my vacuum if I have to!

Pineapple juice. Women have claimed eating pineapple juice induces labor. I say “Why eat it when you can drink it?” It should digest faster as juice and work better and faster… right? I’ve had about 6 glasses and several bathroom visits today!

Make Plans. Some women vow they didn’t feel a thing until they had to attend an important event. I have no important events to attend… but i can pretend…  JJ and I decided to go out for one last dinner together and I’m trying to act like I don’t want the baby to interrupt… so maybe that will trick the lil’stinker. Pairra Suiza here we come! yum!

Walking. I have lapped miles around every mall, supermarket, neighborhood… you name it… I feel like my feet are more likely to give birth at this point.

Sex. No comment.

Nipple stimulation. I guess this can release your own natural oxytocin and bring on contractions. It can also lead to painfully long and strong uterine contractions. So I think I’ll pass.

Castor Oil. This is based on the theroy that a strong laxative will stimulate not only your bowels but your uterus into contrating. Since I do not want to poop my pants I decided to pass. It didnt sound like a beautiful way to start labor.

Herbal tea. It is thought that raspberry leaf tea can bring on labor. However since no studies have been done to establish the safety of any herbal treatments I decided to go for the next best thing… I ate several raspberries.

Unfortunately, as far as medical science is concerned there is no proof that any of these actually will bring on labor. So unless Jericho pops out tonight…  I will just have to keep on waiting with my pineapple juice in one hand and raspberries in the other!

This week Jericho probably weighs anywhere from six to nine pounds and measures between 19 and 22 inches. Come out already! ARGH!

Leave a Reply

